Mintos review – Results after 36 months

Mintos review

This Mintos review is 100% unbiased and based on my own experiences after 3 years of investing.

Updated 28.01.2019

What is Mintos?

Mintos is a Latvian P2P investment marketplace that connects alternative lending companies with investors all over the world. The platform launched in January 2015 and currently serve 59 loan originators and more than 100.000 investors from 73 countries. Loans worth more than 1.5 billion euro’s have been funded since it’s inception.

Mintos has three offices employing 51 people in Riga, Warsaw and Mexico City, with offices shortly opening in Brazil, Russia and South East Asia. By the end of the year, they plan to double the number of employees.

Mintos is the peer-to-peer lending market leader for continental Europe with a 38% market share according to AltFi Data. Less than 3 years after launching, Mintos reached profitability in 2017 with a revenue of 2.1 million EUR and net profit of 196.000 EUR.

Mintos won AltFi’s “People’s choice award” in 2016 and 2017 and I understand why it’s so popular.

Mintos review Mintos review

What kind of returns can I expect?

Click here to see how my Mintos portfolio has evolved over time. The page is updated every month!

I have invested with Mintos since 07.02.2016 and my returns have been very stable and predictable month after month.

My personal net return is 13.05% which is well within range of what you can expect to get. Most loans have interest rates from 10% to 14%. The net average return across the platform is 11.69%.

Mintos review
This is my portfolio

Mintos is a highly trusted platform and some people invest very large amounts there. Here’s an example of a million dollar portfolio:

Portfolio of a millionaire

Buyback guarantee

At the time of writing a massive 201.423 loans are available on the primary market. Only 191 of these have no buyback guarantee.

But what is the definition of a buyback guarantee on Mintos? It’s essentially a promise from the loan originator, that if a borrower fails to make repayments for 60 days, the loan originator will step in and give you back the invested principal + interest earned for the period you held the loan, including the 60 overdue days.

It doesn’t make it risk free. It simply transfers the risk from the borrower to the loan originator, so you don’t have to worry about each and every borrower in your portfolio. Instead you only have to worry about the loan originator defaulting. If the loan originator has a healthy and profitable business then you will be able to profit.

Personally I think the buyback guarantee makes P2P lending much more appealing to the average investor!

What if a loan originator goes bankrupt?

It’s unlikely that all loan originators will perform flawlessly for all eternity. P2P lending is a booming industry and “survival of the fittest” also applies here. After nearly 3,5 years of service Mintos has experienced problems with 1 loan originator: EUROCENT.

It’s been almost a year since EUROCENT loans were suspended on the platform. Since June 8, 2017, more than half of the invested principal has been recovered. I will not go too much into detail in this post, just be aware that default of a loan originator is likely to happen.

You can read more about the EUROCENT default in the Mintos Blog.

Campaign rewards

Mintos review

In 2018 Mintos introduced campaign rewards. It basically means that you get cash back when you invest in loans from a certain loan originator.

Below you can see some examples of these cashback campaigns.

Mintos review

Let’s say you invest 10.000€ in cashback loans. You get 5% back which is 500€. If you invest those 500€ and get 25€ back. Continuing to invest those 25€ you get 1,25€ back. Now your account value is 10.526,25€. Some of these loans might even be bought back if the loan agreements are changed. In that case you will receive your invested principal and interest back, which you can invest in new cashback loans.

Long story short, the cashback campaigns can give a really nice bump to your invested amount in a short period of time!

Update: There are no available cash back campaigns available at the moment, however, they introduced a “refer a friend” campaign, where you can earn 0,75% of the amount your friend invests within the first 3 months.

Setting up Auto-Invest

Like most platforms, Mintos have an “Auto-Invest” feature so you don’t have to select loans manually every time your account has cash available.

My Mintos portfolio is not diversified much. I’d rather maximize the potential on each platform and spread the risk between different platforms instead, but that’s just a personal preference. I cannot give you any specific advise on who and what to invest in, but I can show you how I have set up my auto-invest.

Mintos auto invest strategy 2019

I have created 3 auto-invest strategies:

  • Primary market: Min. 14% interest rate and buyback guarantee with any duration.
  • Secondary market: Loans with buyback guarantee and 14% interest rate, duration up to 60 months.
  • Primary market: Loans with buyback guarantee and 13% interest rate, duration up to 12 months.

I select only the loans originators with Mintos rating from A-B, where the originator pays interest for delayed and defaulted loans.

Unfortunately, the auto-invest tool does not favor higher interest loans. If you set min. interest rate to 12% and 15% loans are available you could get 12, 13, 14 or 15% interest loans.

My auto-invest settings

Below you can see my current Auto-Invest settings. In my opinion there’s no right or wrong, it’s just a personal preference.

I adjust the settings once a month to include new originators and to make sure I get the highest interest rate possible.

Mintos auto invest strategy 2019         Mintos auto invest strategy 2019         Mintos auto invest strategy 2019

OBS! To make sure you earn interest on delayed/defaulted loans, only add the loan originators who fits this criteria.

Look for this information under “Loan originators -> Details -> Interest income on delayed payments”.

Mintos interest income on delayed payments

Secondary Market

The secondary market on Mintos is huge (about the same size as the primary market). A lot of people try to make extra profits by selling loans with a mark-up, or to sell with a discount that is smaller than the cashback they just received.

If you wish to sell your investments and cash in before your loans reaches maturity you can do so on the secondary market. Due to the sheer number of loans available you might have to give a small discount to get any attention from other investors. Unless you have been able to get some high interest loans, those might be able to score you a nice premium.

Market expansion and growth

The rapid expansion and addition of new loan originators over the years is quite impressive. However, I’m a little concerned about the quality of the loan originators they add. Some are very small and some have not been in business long enough to prove their eligibility for existence. Investors have to do a lot of research before adding any new originators to auto-invest. Or take a leap of faith and trust 100% in Mintos’ ability to only add healthy originators to the platform.

Mintos review: Conclusion

The biggest plus about Mintos is probably all the options you have for diversifying your investments. On the other hand it may also the biggest con; there’s so many loan originators and options which makes it hard for new investors to know what to invest in. You have to select and adjust your strategy as new originators join, when new campaigns arrive or when interest rates change due to market competition. If you don’t adjust, you may experience cash drag when no loans fit your criteria. Or you might miss out on higher interest loans if you set the bar too low. That said, I only spend about 30 minutes on a monthly basis, which is not much compared to what I get in return.

If you’re looking for a trusted P2P platform with a long working history and prime diversification options there’s no way around Mintos. They have a really well working platform and good support as well. Combined with the generous buyback campaigns, Mintos is a must have platform in your P2P portfolio.

Bonus: Get 1% extra on your first investment

I have arranged a deal with Mintos, which gives you an exclusive 1% bonus on all investments you make within the first 90 days from your registration if you sign up through one of my links. You will not get this bonus if you sign up directly on Mintos.com

Please share your opinion

Are you already an investor at Mintos? If so, please share your thoughts on the platform in the comments section below. Does it meet you expectations? Are you satisfied with the returns? Do you try to diversify as much as possible, or do you prefer to invest in a few loan originators? How much of your portfolio would you be willing to invest into a P2P platform like this?

Other options

While you’re here, be sure to check out My Portfolio for other great investment opportunities. You can compare the returns I get from the platforms every month.

34 Replies to “Mintos review – Results after 36 months”

  1. I’ve been on Mintos around 3 months and loving it! My net annual return is around 10% and I’m delighted monitoring the progress with my auto-invest settings.

  2. Hi Jørgen,

    Congratulations on the great site and thank you for sharing your story.

    A question on Mintos – what is your view on the short-term loans? Currently there are plenty of them with high interest (14%) and a buy-back guarantee.
    Any reason why we should invest in anything different?

    Thanks

    1. Hi Kaloyan,

      I like the 14% short-term loans with buyback and invest in them myself. Only reason to invest in something different is if you want more diversification in your portfolio. A loan originator can go bankrupt and in that case the buyback guarantee isn’t worth anything.

      1. Hi Jørgen,

        Yes, this risk always exists, both for short and long term. Currently there are 8-10 originators offering such loans which seems good to me.

        I was wondering whether the frequent reinvesting comes with some “downtime” for the money.
        A recent case I had was a short term loan which was returned in a day but technically the money were away from my account for 2 days. The interest paid was for only 1 day. I’ll contact Mintos for detail. Have you had any similar observations?

        Regards

        1. I haven’t had any similar observations, but I also didn’t look for it so I could have missed it. I don’t think it impacts the returns much, in most cases the loans are held for more than 2 days. You should receive interest for for every full day that you have the loan.

  3. Dear Jorgen,

    first of all let me thank you for you great work! I have been looking for a source of inspiration to start my investment journey and eventually I found your (amazing) blog.
    I’m 24 year old consultant with a 1500€ net monthly income and a monthly saving average of 400€ and around 15k savings. I am thinking about investing the first 2k + 150€ every month divided as follows:

    Mintos
    Grupeer
    Envestio

    As far as you experience taught to you, do you think this may be considered a decent/reasonable “first step”?

    P.S. i am aware you do not provide investment advice, i am just looking for an “experienced opinion”

    Thank you once again for you work,
    Luca

    1. Dear Luca,

      If I was brand new to Crowdlending, I would spread my first investment into all 3 platforms (maybe 700€ in each). That would give me experience of each of platform and it would be easier to decide which platform deserves my money next month. It’s also good for diversification and to experience the difference between peer-to-peer and business/project loans.

      Hope that helps.

  4. Hi Jorgen, very impressive 🙂
    A question. How do you organize your affiliate commission?

  5. Dear Jorgen,

    Thanks for your post, really useful from my point of view.
    I just have a doubt. What I understand from the Mintos net annual return (13.05% in your case, in my case is 10.34%) is the average net annual return of ALL your investments. But, when you look at the “Account Statement” you can see that the return of your investments is divided in “Principal received” and “Investment principal rebuy”. Then, the “Interest received” from the “Principal received” is certainly the average net annual return, but if you look at the “Interest income on rebuy” from the “Investment principal rebuy”, the return is not the promised, in my case 0.8%. This is more relevant if you take into account that the 77% of my investments are rebought.

    If I understand correctly the numbers, this means that:
    1. the annual return indicated in the main dashboard is only the return of the principal received, not for all the investments
    2. what you say in the post “the loan originator will step in and give you back the invested principal + interest earned for the period you held the loan, including the 60 overdue days” is not correct, the loan originator do not pay you the interest

    Can you please validate if I am wrong in my analysis?

    Thanks in advance.

    1. Dear Monti,

      Somehow you managed to make something simple sound very complicated 🙂

      “Net annual return” on your dashboard is the return you have received from your investments in total (everything included).

      Some loan originators don’t pay interest for delayed or defaulted loans. I don’t invest in those loan originators! Check Mintos frontpage -> loan originators -> details -> column = “Interest income on delayed payments”. If you want to do like me, only select the originators with YES in this column.

      Hope that helps.

      1. > Some loan originators don’t pay interest for delayed or defaulted loans.

        I didn’t know this important detail!

        Thanks again for sharing this really useful information with us!

  6. Jorgen,

    Let say, there is a scenario when no loans match your filter on Auto-Invest settings and then one appears. I am wondering which investor gets priority when multiple investors match a new loan on the sale?

    Thanks

    1. Great question Greg, I’m not sure how Mintos handles this. If you forward your question to Mintos support I’d love to hear the answer.

  7. Thanks for this article useful.
    I have been using Mintos for 3 months, and have 12.55% in average. Very good platform, and easy to use. I recommend!

  8. Hi, is it worth attention? The interest rate is nice, but I’m afraid to invest a larger amount … Has any loan company gone bankrupt yet? In Mintos ofc.

    1. What you feel comfortable investing in Mintos is something only can decide. Some people feel comfortable with 100€ and some feel comfortable with a million € invested. If you get started and try it out you’ll probably feel more comfortable after some time, when you see how predictable and stable the returns are.

      I would advise you to read this review again, I do mention one loan originator’s case of bankruptcy (the only one so far).

  9. Hi Jørgen,

    I few questions from a novice regarding your Mintos strategy:

    As I understand you only invest in those who pay “Interest income on delayed payments”
    When I open the pictures in your review under “My auto-invest settings” it seems like you have Mogo added also, but looking at Mintos Loan Originators list Mogo don’t pay delayed…?
    Are there some you still invest in despite they don’t, or has there been a change in settings?

    Also:
    By “Loan Type” you have 5/8 and by “Country” you have 24/27.
    Are there any you don’t invest in and can you share why?

    1. Hi Kim,

      I used to invest in Mogo loans but I have disabled them. I could update the picture in the review to reflect that. But then again, I make changes almost every month, and I’m not planning to keep the picture up to date at all times 🙂

      I’ve selected all 8 loan types and all countries, but for some reason Mintos doesn’t save the settings unless you’ve actually selected loan originators from all countries and all types in the list.

  10. Hello Jørgen,

    I registered via your affiliate link on the Mintos site as I liked your reviews.

    At Mintos I can not get any investors at 13% if I use the filters you use. Only when I say no to: Interest income on delayed payments I get some at 12.2%
    I see that in january 2019 you even had 14,88%.
    What setting am I doing wrong you think?

    Thx

    1. Hi Jack.

      You’re not doing anything wrong. Interest rates change from time to time. You can get 12.5-13% loans from Varks at the moment. I still have a lot of 14% loans in my portfolio. Reinvesting makes the yield returns a little higher than the interest rate itself.

  11. Hello Jørgen,

    I registered via your affiliate link on the Mintos site as I liked your reviews.

    At Mintos I can not get any investors at 13% if I use the filters you use. Only when I say no to: Interest income on delayed payments I get some at 12.2%
    I see that in january 2019 you even had 14,88%.
    What setting am I doing wrong you think?

    Thx

  12. Hi,

    Thx for your answer I will look at Varks.
    When I had a look at the Secondary market, it looked a bit scary to me.

    What would be pretty safe auto investing settings advice on the secondary market?

    1. I don’t know, I prefer the primary market. If you never pay a premium and choose buyback guarantee, the secondary market should be pretty safe.

  13. Hi,

    Thanks so much for your input in this brand new world that is P2P lending. I would like to know what’s your criteria for selecting lenders? I see that for example now you do not trust getbucks loans from outside europe – any particular reason’

    Tiago

    1. Hi Tiago,

      I choose A-B rating loan originators that pay interest for delayed and defaulted loans. According to the details of the loan originators GetBucks don’t pay interest for their loans in these countries. It’s not because I don’t trust GetBucks.

  14. Hello Jorgen,

    I started to invest in P2P and simillar projects 3 months ago. So far all my loans and investments has gone correctly. I am just a bit scared to invest all my savings to the platform with only partial guarantee which won’t work if the platform or a creditor will go bankrupt. So I keep 80% of my saving in bank deposit which gives me only 3-4%/year which is really disappointing. What do you think about it? Aren’t you afraid to keep that much money in these? By the way, I am very impressed by the review that you have made, really good job. Thanks to you I may breake my fears 🙂
    P.S. Have you had any investments that failed? How much did you lost?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.